A Call for Nominations
2018 Ohio Polio Network

Bernice Krumhansl Advocacy Award



This award is presented  to a polio survivor or other individual who is an outstanding advocate -- a person who has worked actively in support of improving the lives of polio survivors and people with other disability issues. This award was originally established by the OPN Board in 1988. It was called the People First/Disability Second Award. It was later changed to the Bernice Krumhansl Advocacy Award in honor of Bernice Krumhansl’s untiring efforts in working with polio survivors to help them maintain their quality of life.
Bernice worked 34 years at St. Luke’s Medical Center, retiring in 1986 as director of the physical therapy department. She specialized in working with polio patients. Bernice wrote many articles on a variety of subjects, including a textbook on physical therapy. She also traveled extensively on a lecture circuit.
Her cousin, Bill Krumhansl, described her best:  

“She was special because she healed the old-fashioned way.
She healed with her hands, with her heart, and with her head.”


Previous Recipients



Ida Hagar


Greg Nemunaitis


Carolyn Melvin


Dave Livingston


Jackie Hamler


Frank Craig & Becky White


Greg Larbes


Fran Willemsen


Winnie Walker


Patrick Kelly


Betty Sugarman


Ernest W. Johnson, M.D.


Marianne Weiss


Brenda Ferguson


Nomination Procedure:
Submit the nominee’s name on a separate sheet, along with full address, support letters, news clippings, articles, photos, etc. Please include a short biography of the nominee. The deadline for nominations is August 25, 2018. Please mail your nominations to: 
Patrick Kelly
104 Iroquois Drive
Marietta, OH 43750-1219

(740) 374-0538


The OPN Board will determine who will receive the award by ballot.

The Bernice Krumhansl Award will be presented at the 2018 Ohio Polio Network Conference. 

Enter supporting content here