A Call for Nominations

2012 Ohio Polio Network Conference

Bernice Krumhansl Advocacy Award


This award is presented annually to a polio survivor or other individual who is an outstanding advocate -- a person who has worked actively in support of improving the lives of polio survivors and people with other disability issues. This award was originally established by the OPN Board in 1988. It was called -- People First/Disability Second Award. It was later changed to the Bernice Krumhansl Advocacy Award for her untiring efforts working with polio survivors to help maintain their quality of life.


Bernice worked 34 years at St. Luke’s Medical Center, retiring in 1986 as director of the physical therapy department. She specialized in working with polio patients. Bernice wrote many articles on a variety of subjects, including a textbook on physical therapy. She also traveled extensively on a lecture circuit. Her cousin, Bill Krumhansl, said it best: "She was special because she healed the old-fashioned way. She healed with her hands, with her heart, and with her head."


Nomination Procedure:

Submit nominee’s name on a separate sheet, along with full address, support letters, news clippings, articles, photos, etc. Please include a short biography of the nominee. The deadline for nominations is September 8, 2012. Please mail your nominations to:


Ruth McCort

1048 Austin Avenue

Akron, OH 44306-2956

(330) 724-8302



Enter supporting content here